How to Unblock Someone on TikTok (2022)

Unblock Someone on TikTok

Do you want to rekindle an old relationship with a blocked Tiktok friend? Read on to learn how you can unblock them on Tiktok and make friends again.

TikTok is one of the most popular video apps in the world right now. It's fun and easy to use, plus it has a huge community of users sharing content every day. Unfortunately, not all of those friends are going to be nice people.

Sometimes, friends can become enemies or vice versa. When this happens, it's important to know how you can block or unblock a user on TikTok so you can limit your exposure to toxic people and avoid unnecessary drama.


How to Unblock Someone on TikTok?  

Unblocking someone from the platform is a simple process, but it can be tricky if you don’t know what to do. Read on for the best ways to unblock users on the platform:

Through Your Blocked List

If you're fond of blocking people easily in case of a misunderstanding, unblocking them through your blocked list is the best way to go about this. This is because chances are high that you probably don't remember the user's details, or you are just curious to know how many people you've blocked so far.

Here's what you'll need to do:

Step 1: Launch the Tiktok application.

Launch the Tiktok application

Step 2: Touch your [Profile] icon at the lower right corner of the screen to go to your profile.

Step 3: Click on the [Menu] icon on the top left corner, represented as three horizontal lines. This will open Tiktok's account settings.

account settings

Step 4: Touch the [Privacy] option, swipe to the bottom and click on the [Blocked Accounts] option.

Unblock

Step 5: You'll be redirected to a list of all blocked accounts, so scroll through for any users you need to unblock and tap on the [Unblock] button next to their username.


Through Their Profile

One of the most common ways to unblock anyone on Tiktok is by searching and visiting their profile.

Here is how to do it:

Step 1: Use the search button at the top of your homepage to search for the user you want to unblock. One way to know you've found the right user you wanted is that once their username pops up on the results, there will be a [Blocked by you] notification beside their username.

Step 2: Touch the [Menu] icon or the three dots on the top right side of their profile.

Menu

Step 3: A new menu will pop up; touch the [Unblock] option from it, and that will be it!


Can You Block People in Bulk on TikTok??

Yes, you can block people in bulk on TikTok. It’s a pretty easy process, though it does take a few minutes to complete.

Here is how to:

Block Someone

Step 1: Navigate to the user's profile. For example, if you were watching their videos, touch on their profile icon from the bottom right of the page to go to their profile.

Step 2: Touch the [Three dots menu] button on the top right corner of their profile page and tap on the [Block] option from the pop-up menu.

pop-up menu

Step 3: Finally, touch the [Confirm] option to add them to your blocked list.


Block People in Bulk

Among the many features, you'll find in Tiktok is blocking more than one user at the same time. So if you notice a group of like-minded people is bothering you or making inappropriate comments on your content, then you can quickly block them from accessing your profile altogether.

Here is how:

Step 1: Touch and hold on to one of the comments on your content.

Step 2: Then, tap on the [Manage multiple Comments] option.

Step 3: Touch each comment from the users you want to block. Tiktok lets you block up to 100 users at the same time, so you select as many comments as you want.

Step 4: Scroll through to the bottom and touch the [More] option, then click on the [Block Accounts] button.


Bonus: How to Know If Someone Blocked You on TikTok?

Bonus How to Know If Someone Blocked You on TikTok

When someone blocks you on TikTok, it means they have blocked you from viewing their content in the app. For example, you will no longer be able to see their stories, tags, or posts.

If someone has blocked you on TikTok, it does not mean they have deleted their account. This means that when you open the app and go to their page, you will still see that they have a profile but that it is hidden from view.

So, if you are unsure whether you were blocked, here is how you can find out:

  • Check Your Following List

Check Your Following List

To check who blocked you on TikTok, go to the app and open it. Then, tap on the [Profile] icon at the top-right corner of the screen. From there, tap on [Following]. You can see all the users that have been added to your Following list. If anyone has blocked you, they won't appear on your following list, it means that the user blocked you.

  • Check Your Tags

Check Your Tags

If someone has blocked you on TikTok, they won't be tagged in any of your posts anymore, either. If no tags are showing up for someone who just commented or mentioned you, then that's another sign that they have blocked you on the app!

  • Go To The Discover Page

Go To The Discover Page

Go to the [Discover] page and type in their username in the search bar at the top right of the screen. If nothing shows up, then they have most likely blocked you from viewing their account!


FAQs

1. Does Tiktok notify someone that you unblocked them?

The answer is no. Tiktok does not notify someone that you unblocked them. You must, however, add them back as friends once you unblock them.

So, if you block someone, they will only know that you unblocked them if they log in to their own account and go to your profile page.

2. What happens if you block someone on TikTok?

If you block someone on TikTok, they won't be able to see any of your posts, including your Stories and photos. They also won't receive notifications when you upload new content or comment on theirs.

You also won't see any of their posts; even if they have any, you'll see a “No videos yet” notification on their profile page. Blocking them also prevents them from sending you direct messages and friend requests.

3. Does TikTok tell who viewed your profile in 2022?

Of course, Tiktok informs you of every user that viewed your profile. This feature came back after the platform restored its profile viewing history feature. This is after its removal from the app in mid-2020. From then, until March 2022, Tiktok users could not see who viewed their profile.


Conclusion

There are many reasons why users may wish to block and then unblock other users. And fortunately, it's a simple change you can make without having too much trouble. Keep in mind that if you return to someone's profile in the future, you will be reminded that you blocked them.

So, if you may have mistakenly blocked someone or were a result of a short misunderstanding, this is the best time to unblock them; before you forget about it.