Did you send an inappropriate message via Instagram? Read on for a step-by-step guide on how to delete Instagram messages on your recipients end.
Instagram is one of the world's most popular social media platforms, with over 1 billion monthly active users. As such, it's no surprise that many people use Instagram to communicate with friends and family.
One of the features that make Instagram unique is its messaging feature. Users can send direct messages to each other via private chat.
The direct messaging feature makes it easy to communicate with someone privately without being seen by others. You can send photos and video clips, use stickers, draw on pictures, and even send voice messages.
But sometimes, you want to delete these messages from your account because it's embarrassing or you sent them to the wrong recipient. However, deleting Instagram messages isn't as simple as it sounds — several steps are involved in this process.
Luckily there's an easy solution to go around it. Read on for this.
How to Delete Instagram Messages from Both Sides?
Did you send an embarrassing or offensive message on Instagram and want to take it back? Fortunately, there is a way for you to go about this. You must, however, know that there is no [Delete] option in Instagram's Direct Messaging. Instead, Instagram uses the term [Unsend].
It is also important to know that you can only delete one message at a go.
So, to do that, you'll need to:
Step 1: Touch the Instagram [Direct Message] icon. It's a small paper plane symbol.
Step 2: Open the conversations (Direct messages) screen.
Step 3: Long press the message you would like to delete.
Step 4: In the pop-up screen, touch the [Unsend] option. This way, you will have deleted the message for both you and your recipient.
Can Others Delete Instagram Messages?
There are many different reasons why people want their Instagram messages deleted. So, if you’re wondering if someone can delete Instagram messages, The answer is yes.
But only the sender of the message can delete it. The same applies to group chats where, even if you're the admin in control, you won't be in control over everyone's conversation except your individual messages. So this is an important thing to note more when setting up group chats and adding people whose character traits you cannot account for.
What Happens If I Delete Instagram Messages?
When you delete your messages on Instagram, the other person will be notified through a notification that will blink on their Instagram Conversation page. This notification will only last for a second, and it will automatically disappear.
Therefore, the user will only know you sent and unsent a message if they were using Instagram at the time. If the recipient was using a different app, they would not be aware that you sent and deleted a message.
If this person has Instagram notifications enabled, they will also be notified that you sent them a message, but they won't be able to find it if you unsent it. Additionally, if they were not near their phone when the notification popped in, they will not be aware that you sent a message; because the notification will pop in and disappear within a second or two.
Will Blocking Someone on Instagram Delete Messages?
No, blocking someone on Instagram won’t delete their messages.
Blocking a person on Instagram prevents them from seeing your posts, comments, and stories. Additionally, it will stop them from following you. But, all of the previous messages that you talked about will be preserved, and each of you will be able to retrieve them from your respective ends.
So you must know that Instagram never deletes the messages of accounts on your block. This will also be the case if you deactivated your account. All chats will remain intact.
Does Deleting Your Instagram Account Remove DMs on Instagram?
If you’re wondering whether or not deleting your Instagram account will remove the DMs you've sent to others, the direct answer is No. The messages you've shared with others will still be visible to them.
When you delete an Instagram account, what disappears is the videos and photos as well as the comments on that account. Every conversation you had in the account will remain just as you left them unless the other person decides to delete them.
Well, if you have made any mistake by sending Instagram messages to anyone who you are unsure about their reaction, then you should try to delete the message. Hopefully, you can simply follow all the steps and get back to your normal Instagram account.
Besides this, you should always be careful while sending messages to anyone and make some mistakes as well. And don't do this too often; some people may take screenshots that you won’t have access to, even after you delete the DMs sent to them.